top of page
IPC Group Pic_edited_edited.jpg


2023 Winners announced! 

The International Portrait Competition is open to all artists, members and non-members. A variety of mediums is welcomed and encouraged.

The winners, including the Draper Grand Prize winner of $50,000, have been announced for the 25th Annual International Portrait Competition, showcasing the finest in portraiture and figurative art today. Their selected original artwork were on display at the prestigious The Art of the Portrait conference in Washington, DC, May 11-14, 2023 for final judging and awards, culminating with the presentation of the $50,000 Draper Grand Prize on Saturday, May 13, 2023. 

2023 Grand Prize winner -

Paul Newton

1. Buettner, Jana.jpg

The Portrait Society of America is pleased to announce a Call for Entries for our fourth annual The Future Generation Competition. This competition was created to acknowledge the work of talented, emerging artists, who are 18 to 25 years old. Entry deadline is August 15, 2023. 


Early recognition in art competitions can have a great impact on a young artist’s career, as it did for John Singer Sargent, who at the age of twenty-three, won Honorable Mention at the Paris Salon for a portrait he painted of his teacher, Carolus-Duran. 

2023 First Place - Jana Buettner

2023 Winners announced!

2023 Winners announced!

1. entry-10174-figarelli_t_noncommissioned.jpg

All members of the Portrait Society of America are eligible to enter the 19th annual Members Only Competition for the chance to see their work featured in the pages of International Artist magazine, The Art of the Portrait Journal, and the Portrait Society of America website and social media pages.

The Members Only Competition, held annually, is open to all Portrait Society members in good standing. Each fall, up to five categories are offered, and members can submit up to one artwork per category.  All work must be your own original design and concept, created independently, completed in the last three years and have never won an award in any previous art competition.  All media is accepted in each category including oil, pastel, watercolor, graphite, sculpture, etc. No electronic/computer generated or altered artwork, work done in a class, workshop or under supervision is eligible. 

2023 1st Place Non-Commissioned Portrait

Tina Figarelli

bottom of page