The Portrait Society of America is a national 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, founded in February 1998

to further the traditions of fine art portraiture and figurative art. 

Phone Toll-Free: 1-877-772-4321  •  Fax: 1-850-222-7890  •  Email:

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 11272, Tallahassee, FL 32302 Shipping Address: 1109 S. Magnolia Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32301

  2020 International Portrait Competition

William F. Draper Grand Prize - $25,000 Cash Award

You are invited to enter the 22nd Annual International Portrait Competition, showcasing the finest in portraiture and figurative art today. The International Portrait Competition is open to all artists, members and non-members. A variety of mediums is welcomed and encouraged. The selected finalists are required to exhibit their selected original artwork and be present at the prestigious The Art of the Portrait© conference in Orlando, FL, April 16-19, 2020 for final judging and awards.


Entry Deadline: February 12, 2020

Finalists announced:  March 2, 2020

Awards: Saturday, April 18, 2020


Over $115,000 in cash and awards will be presented, with a $25,000 cash Grand Prize. 



Entry Guidelines

IPC Prospectus.jpg

Entry Criteria-- All entries must meet the following:


  • Must be the artist’s own original design and concept

  • Created independently

  • Completed after March 2017

  • For 2D the longest side should not be larger than 60”

  • For 3D the size of the piece should weigh no more than 50 pounds and under 8'

  • For 3D artwork, the submitted work should be in final material, ready for display

  • Portrait Society Board Members and Gold Medal recipients are ineligible

  • Previous winner of the Draper Grand Prize are ineligible

  • Faculty donating their time to teach at conference are eligible to enter the competition


In addition, no photography, electronic, computer generated art, art done in a class, workshop or under supervision is eligible. All other media is accepted and encouraged, both two-dimensional and three-dimensional. Participants are eligible to submit up to three artworks for consideration.


Up to three digital image files can be submitted. Note: Sculpture entries can provide up to 3 views of the same piece. Electronic submissions through the Portrait Society of America’s secure site can be uploaded through the February 12, 2020 deadline.

Awards & Recognition

2019 3rd Place Winner

Quang Ho, Denver, CO

The Farmhand (Noelle), 38x24", oil 

Top award winners will be eligible for over $110,000 in cash and prizes. The William Draper Grand Prize includes a feature article in International Artist Magazine and a $25,000 cash prize. Finalists also receive recognition in The Art of the Portrait© journal and on the Portrait Society's website. Top finalists receive complementary tuition to The Art of the Portrait© Conference 2020, as well as other cash and prizes.


Awards will be presented at the annual conference Saturday, April 18, 2020 in the following categories:


  • Grand Prize: An overall selected winner from the top twenty finalists’ artwork.

  • First Place Drawing

  • First Place Painting

  • First Place Sculpture

  • Six Placement Awards

  • Ten Merit Awards

Competition Timetable

File Upload Deadline:  February 12, 2020

Finalist Notification:  March 2, 2020

Exhibition Dates:  April 16-19, 2020

Gala Awards Banquet:  April 18, 2020

2019 1st Place Sculpture
Erin McCarthy, Revere, MA 

Simple Man, 9.5 x 7.5 x 20.5", plaster

Entry Fee

The $45 Entry Fee covers up to 3 unique submissions.

Credit cards are accepted on-line with your submission, the fee is non-refundable and must accompany your submission.

If you are selected as a finalist you are required to be in attendance with your artwork to win a prize.

2019 1st Place Drawing
Sookyi Lee, Singapore, Singapore

White Gown, 14x11", charcoal on toned paper

Formatting Digital Entry

Make note of these items when formatting your entry:


     · Only Digital entries will be accepted

     · Up to three digital image files can be submitted on online via our entry form

     · Save each file in the following form: JPG or TIFF

     · No larger than 3 megabytes each

     · Images should ONLY be of the artwork

     · Do not include matting frame, etc. in the image

2019 1st Place Painting and People's Choice
Alex Venezia, Cary, NC

Haunting, 20x16", Oil

Labeling Digital Entry

Each file must be labeled in the following format:


Artists Last Name-First Initial-Entry Letter

(Separate each by a dash)


For example: smith-j-A.jpg



Call the Portrait Society, toll-free at 1-877-772-4321.

2019 Second Place

Joshua LaRock, Raleigh, NC 

Midshipman, US Naval Academy, 42x30”, Oil